Plaud makes small AI voice recorders: the credit-card-sized Plaud Note that sticks to the back of a phone, and the NotePin you wear. You press a button, it records, and the Plaud app sends the audio to Plaud's cloud to be transcribed and summarized; the app cannot record with the phone's own microphone. Owners rate it 4.9 from more than 23,000 reviews on the US App Store.
People look for an alternative for four reasons: it is one more device to buy, carry and charge; transcription comes in a monthly allowance (300 minutes free, 1,200 on Pro); everything is processed in the cloud; and there is no transcript while you record. Some alternatives are other recorders; others are apps for the phone or watch you already own.
We make ThinkScribe, so it is in this list, and it is first. The other products are described from their own websites, help pages and App Store listings, checked on October 3, 2026.
The short answer
- Best overall if you have an iPhone: ThinkScribe. It turns your iPhone, iPad, Mac or Apple Watch into the recorder, shows the words live, and transcribes on the device with no account and no minute limit.
- Free and built in: Apple Voice Memos and Notes. On-device transcripts in ten languages; Notes also records phone calls in many countries, though not in the EU.
- For teams that live in online meetings: Otter.
- Cheapest wearable: Bee, $49.99, US only.
- A recorder with free transcription for owners: HiDock P1, $169, which also records calls through your earbuds.
- Open-source wearable: Omi.
- The closest Plaud-style recorder: soundcore Work, $159 with 300 free minutes a month.
Do you need a separate recorder at all?
A dedicated recorder does a few things better than any app:
- Battery that is not your phone's. Plaud Note records for up to 30 hours, Note Pro up to 50, and Bee runs about a week.
- One button, no unlocking. Press, and it records.
- Phone calls where the iPhone cannot record them. Plaud Note and Note Pro pick up a call through a vibration sensor pressed against the back of the phone, which works in the EU, where Apple's own call recording is not offered. You cannot use earbuds during the call, and the NotePin does not record calls at all.
- Your phone stays free. The device records on its own and syncs later.
An app on the phone or watch you already carry wins on the rest: nothing to buy, charge or leave at home, and with on-device transcription there are no minutes to ration. Every recorder below sends its audio to a cloud service to be transcribed, apart from Omi's on-phone mode.
A recorder earns its place if you record phone calls in the EU every day, or need a full day of capture without touching your phone. For meetings, lectures, interviews and voice notes, the phone in your pocket is enough.
What it costs over two years
On Plaud's free Starter plan you pay only for the device, which is cheap for light use. The sums change once 300 minutes a month, five hours, is not enough. List prices on October 3, 2026:
| Two years of use | Year one | Year two | Total | Transcription |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plaud Note, free Starter plan | $159 | $0 | $159 | 300 min/month, cloud |
| Plaud Note with Pro billed yearly ($8.33/month) | $258.96 | $99.96 | $358.92 | 1,200 min/month, cloud |
| ThinkScribe yearly | $39.99 | $79.99 | $119.98 | no minute limit, on your device |
| ThinkScribe lifetime | $199.99 | $0 | $199.99 | no minute limit, on your device |
A Note bundled with a year of Pro ($248.99, checked September 30) lowers Plaud's total to $348.95. Month to month, Plaud Pro is $17.99 and ThinkScribe $9.99. One ThinkScribe purchase covers iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch; a Plaud device records only for itself. Both need a phone: Plaud's app is where you play back and read.
How we compared them
| Product | Extra device | Transcribed where | Live transcript | Free transcription | Phone calls on iPhone | Apple Watch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ThinkScribe | none | ✓ on your device | ✓ | free uses, then no minute limit on Pro | ✕ (calls on Mac ✓) | ✓ records |
| Plaud (for reference) | $159 to $189 | cloud | ✕ | 300 min/month | Note and Note Pro | ✕ |
| Apple Voice Memos and Notes | none | on your device | ✓ in Notes | ✓ free | ✓ (not in the EU) | Voice Memos records |
| Otter | none | cloud | ✓ | 300 min/month, 30 min each | ✕ | ✕ |
| Bee | $49.99 | cloud | not stated | no subscription sold yet | not stated | ✓ |
| Omi | $179 list | on your phone or cloud | paid plans | ✓ on-phone, 300 cloud min | not stated | ✓ |
| HiDock P1 | $169 | cloud | paid plans | ✓ for owners | ✓ with earbuds | ✕ |
| soundcore Work | $159 | cloud | ✕ | 300 min/month | not stated | ✕ |
1. ThinkScribe: best overall if you have an iPhone
ThinkScribe turns the iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Mac you already own into the recorder. Start from the app, the Lock Screen, Control Center, Siri or the watch, and the words appear while people talk, which Plaud does not offer. When you stop, the transcript and speaker labels are made on your device, even in airplane mode. There is no account, and your recordings are never sent to us.
- No minute counter. Transcription runs on your own hardware, so on Pro a three-hour workshop costs the same as a voice note.
- Real names, remembered. Speakers are labelled; name a voice once and ThinkScribe recognizes it in later recordings.
- AI notes you can question. Summaries, action items, meeting minutes, a mind map, and a chat that answers from the recording with citations, running on ThinkScribe AI or Apple Intelligence.
- Apple Watch as the wearable. Record from your wrist for up to an hour; the watch hands the audio to your iPhone, which transcribes it, so keep the phone within reach. See record on Apple Watch.
- Calls on the Mac without a bot. On a Mac it records your microphone and the sound of a Zoom, Teams or Meet call, and nothing joins the meeting.
- One purchase covers iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch: free to try, then $9.99 a month, $79.99 a year ($39.99 the first year for new subscribers) or $199.99 once.
The honest limits: it is Apple-only, it does not record phone calls on the iPhone, a recording uses your phone's battery, and a watch recording runs 60 minutes at most. On iPhone the recording keeps going if you switch apps; the live text pauses until you come back.
Choose it if you want what Plaud delivers, a transcript and notes from every conversation, without buying, charging and carrying another device.
2. Apple Voice Memos and Notes: the free baseline
Voice Memos and Notes transcribe on the device in ten languages, Notes shows the transcript live, and iPhones with Apple Intelligence (iPhone 15 Pro or later) can summarize a recording. Voice Memos also records on the Apple Watch.
Notes can also record phone calls from the Phone app, with a transcript that marks who said what; both people hear a notice. Call recording is not available in the European Union and some other countries, and call transcripts cover 15 locales. Ordinary recordings get no speaker labels, and Voice Memos transcripts can only be copied, not exported as files.
Choose it if you need the occasional transcript, or free call recording in a country where Apple offers it.
3. Otter: for teams in online meetings
Otter is the app "Plaud alternatives" articles name most often, rated 4.8 from more than 80,000 reviews. It transcribes live, learns speakers you tag, writes summaries, and either sends a bot to Zoom, Teams and Meet or records from its Mac and Windows apps without one.
Everything is processed in Otter's cloud and needs an account. The free plan has 300 minutes a month with a 30-minute cap per conversation; Pro is $16.99 a month, or $8.33 a month billed yearly, and stops a conversation at 90 minutes. There is no Apple Watch app and no phone call recording.
Choose it if your meetings are online, under 90 minutes, and your team shares notes in one place.
4. Bee: the cheapest wearable
Bee, now owned by Amazon, is a $49.99 device you wear on a wristband or clip to your clothes. It turns the day's conversations into summaries and to-dos, the battery lasts about a week, and it works with an Apple Watch app.
It ships only within the United States. Conversations are processed in the cloud and, Bee says, the audio is never stored, so there is nothing to replay. No subscription is sold today; Bee says a Premium plan will come.
Choose it if you are in the US and want all-day memory rather than meeting transcripts.
5. Omi: the open-source wearable
Omi is a pendant that records and syncs to its app, with open-source code you can inspect or host yourself. Its website lists $179, with $129 charged at checkout on October 3, and a free plan with unlimited transcription on the phone plus 300 cloud minutes a month; Unlimited is $29.99 a month. Speech profiles tell speakers apart, there is an Apple Watch app, and the battery lasts 10 to 14 hours.
Its App Store listing quotes different plan numbers (1,200 free minutes, Pro at $20 a month), so check the current offer before you buy.
Choose it if you like open hardware and want a choice between phone and cloud transcription.
6. HiDock P1: a recorder with free transcription for owners
HiDock P1 is a $169 recorder that sits between your phone and your Bluetooth earbuds, so it records calls, in the EU too, while you keep the earbuds in. Owners get unlimited AI transcription with no subscription.
Transcription runs in the cloud. Speaker identification, real-time transcription and most templates need a paid plan, from $12.99 per 1,200 minutes, and its app has a 3.2 rating from 27 reviews on the US App Store.
Choose it if you take many calls on earbuds and want a device with no monthly minute bill.
7. soundcore Work: the closest Plaud-style recorder
Anker's soundcore Work is a $159 recorder with a charging case: 8 hours of recording, 32 with the case, and one press to start. It comes with 300 free transcription minutes a month; Pro is $15.99 a month or $99.99 a year for 1,200 minutes.
Audio is uploaded for transcription and deleted after delivery, summaries use GPT, and you play recordings back in the app, not on the device. We found no mention of phone call recording.
Choose it if you want a Plaud-like recorder from a large brand, at the same $159 as a Plaud Note.
Which one should you pick?
- You have an iPhone or Apple Watch and want transcripts and notes without another gadget: ThinkScribe.
- You want live text and transcription on your own device, with no minute allowance: ThinkScribe.
- An occasional transcript, nothing to install: Voice Memos or Notes.
- Your meetings are online and shared across a team: Otter.
- You record phone calls in the EU every day: Plaud Note itself, or HiDock P1 if you use earbuds.
- Full days away from your phone, and 300 cloud minutes a month is enough: Plaud on its free plan, or soundcore Work.
- All-day ambient memory in the US: Bee.
More comparisons: the best voice recorders that transcribe to text, the best voice recorder apps with transcription for iPhone, the best Otter.ai alternatives and ThinkScribe vs Plaud.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a Plaud alternative that does not need a device?
Yes. ThinkScribe records on the iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch or Mac you already own, shows a live transcript, and transcribes on the device with no account and no monthly minute allowance, for $79.99 a year ($39.99 the first year for new subscribers) after free uses, with one purchase for all your Apple devices. Apple's Voice Memos and Notes are free built-in options with fewer features.
Does Plaud transcribe on the device?
No. Plaud devices record offline, but transcription and summaries happen in Plaud's cloud, so you need a connection, and the free plan includes 300 minutes a month (October 2026). Plaud also does not show a transcript in real time.
Is Plaud cheaper than an app?
Only for light use. At list prices on October 3, 2026, a Plaud Note costs $159 over two years on the free plan (300 cloud minutes a month) or $358.92 with Pro billed yearly (1,200 minutes). ThinkScribe costs $119.98 ($39.99 the first year for new subscribers) over two years on the yearly plan, or $199.99 once, with no minute limit.
Can my iPhone record phone calls without Plaud?
In many countries, yes: the Phone app records one-to-one calls into Notes, both people hear a notice, and the transcript marks who spoke. It is not available in the European Union and several other countries. There, Plaud Note's vibration sensor or HiDock P1's earbud connection are the hardware routes. ThinkScribe does not record phone calls on the iPhone.
Is an AI voice recorder better than an app?
It is better for all-day battery, one-button capture and, in countries without Apple's call recording, phone calls. An app costs less and has nothing to carry or charge, and an on-device app such as ThinkScribe has no minute limit.
What is the best Plaud alternative for Apple Watch?
ThinkScribe records on the watch for up to 60 minutes and transcribes on your iPhone, with speaker names and AI notes. Plaud has no Apple Watch app; Bee and Omi have companion watch apps, and Voice Memos records on the watch for free.
Sources
Checked on October 3, 2026.
- Plaud devices
- Plaud Note
- Plaud plans and pricing
- Plaud trust center
- Plaud: real-time transcription
- Plaud: using the app without a Plaud device
- Plaud: note recording and phone call recording
- Plaud on the App Store
- Apple: record a phone call on iPhone
- Apple: iOS feature availability
- Otter pricing
- Bee Pioneer
- Omi
- Omi pricing
- HiDock P1
- HiNotes plans
- soundcore Work
